Good ol’ Jazz

When I first went to the Creative Commons Search Engine, there were so many options of where I could go for my material. I decided on YouTube and then just typed in “music”. I was given a lot of videos of “chillwave” music or compilation albums for rainy days or different moods, but then I thought I’d mix things up and search for “jazz music”. I ended up with “Jazz Music Vol. 1” which turned out to be a great choice. I’m a big fan of jazz music but admittedly don’t listen to enough of it. The video fits my blog because it’s music based (and the songs definitely have a big piano presence, which is especially fitting for me). Based on “Fair Use”, I am making a comment about the music and its inclusion within my blog, and I’m not using the video for any monetary gain. Just to prove that I’m not denying credit to the author, the songs in the video are curated by “Blulight Gallery” and since they are all independent songs, they most likely asked for permission to use the song in the compilation, but aren’t getting money for it.

The fact that a video like this can be shared helps the artists get support and attention where they might not have otherwise because they are not “signed”.

Listen to the compilation here:

One thought on “Good ol’ Jazz

  1. I’m personally not too big into Jazz, but I’m really digging this! I like how the post had to do with the subject matter of your blog. I also like how you explained why the video was fine to be on YouTube and your blog. I wonder what other interesting music you could find? And I do absolutely agree that sharing music through YouTube can bring tons of attention to a band or artist!

    Like

Leave a comment